______________________________________________________________ Mark, Lynda, Freddie & Becky Hughes with resident medium Angela Mitchell 


The Old Club Ghost Hunt – £35 (15.09.18)

The Gentlemens Club Rear View

NEW IN 2017 & NOW ONE OF OUR FAVORITE MOST HAUNTED LOCATIONS – Join Fright Nights Berkshire for the ghost hunt of this unique building with a maze of narrow staircases and corridors. Locally known as a haunted house, we have secured a number of dates to explore this fabulous building. The building is just a stone’s throw away from Windsor Great Park in Englefield Green, a village grown from a hamlet in medieval times.

With a fascinating history, there is no doubt that the building is haunted, and is very active with reports of varying activity every time we investigate. Many visitors to The Old Club don’t like the top floor with a feeling on unease and being watched. On the first floor a full manifestation has been seen, sending witnesses fleeing out of the building! Also reported are strange noises, phantom footsteps and the ghost of a Jack Russell dog, said to belong to a previous owner! Join us for an EXCLUSIVE ghost hunt that includes:

  • A walkround with a Medium (who haunts tonight?)
  • Psychic Workshop and Experiments including Seances and Glass Divination
  • Ghost Hunting Vigils in the dark
  • Hot Drinks and Biscuits
  • Expert advice and discussion about the paranormal

HISTORY In 1880, the Main building, was built by Oades & Son of Egham for a Temperance League. Originally constructed as a Coffee Tavern called the “Victoria”, the intent was to provide an alternative form of “refreshment” to try to reduce the alcohol consumption of the workmen involved in building the nearby Founders Hall of Royal Holloway College. It was opened in December 1880 by General Sir Alexander Taylor who was the principle of the Royal Indian Engineering College.

By 1910 The coffee tavern had evolved into a full “Temperance hotel”.

Around 1918/9, the Building was acquired by the Red Triangle Club, the sports orientated section of the YMCA who added the new main hall as an extension to the original building. The foundation stones laid by Princess Helena Victoria and Princess Christiana can be seen on the Harvest Road elevation either side of the hall exit.

By the late 1930’s the building had fallen into poor repair and was taken over by the Egham Urban District Council.

Throughout the war from 1940-1945, although difficult to imagine now, Englefield Green was considered far enough into the country to act as a safe haven. The building was used to provide the classrooms for pupils evacuated from the Roman Catholic schools of St. Joseph’s of Camberwell and St. Bernard’s of Stepney. The relative proximity of the village to London, prompted several families to move out to be with their children.

For twenty years after the war, the buildings were used as a school by St Cuthbert’s and St Jude’s Schools but by 1963, the building stood empty again to be used as a social club for various groups and organisations. By the mid-1990s the building was very tired and it was nearly sold for development. It was saved by “St Jude’s Players” – the local amateur dramatic group and is now used as a social club and venue for various groups and events in the village.

With such a varied history ranging from its origins as a Temperance Bar to housing school children during the war, its no doubt that the history has left it’s mark. We have now uncovered another use of the building, which was kept quiet during it’s use. What will you witness during our ghost hunts at this remarkable building?

Please note: Over 18s only – no pregnant women allowed and attendees must be reasonably fit. For more information please see our Terms and Conditions.

TO BOOK THIS EVENT WITH A VOUCHER PLEASE CONTACT ORGANISER BELOW WITH YOUR VOUCHER SERIAL NUMBER AND PIN CODE (IF APPLICABLE) AND CONTACT DETAILS

Address: The Social Hall Harvest Road Englefield Green Surrey TW20 0QT

© Fright Nights - The Original Ghost Hunting Company

social network